Walorski Honors Notre Dame Grad & Iraq Veteran, Danielle Green with ‘Who’s Who in IN-02’

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Weekly initiative highlights a local Hoosier or business for notable achievements

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Rep. Jackie Walorski (IN-02) today announced this week’s honoree for her ‘Who’s Who in IN-02initiative. During a speech on the House floor, Walorski congratulated Danielle Green, a former Notre Dame basketball player and Iraq veteran who recently won the Pat Tillman award at the Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly (ESPY) ceremony this month.

I want to congratulate Danielle Green for being honored with the 2015 Pat Tillman award,” said Walorski. “This award is a reminder to us all of the brave sacrifices made by our servicemen and women in the name of defending our freedom. Danielle’s dedication to protecting our great nation and aiding Hoosier veterans is nothing short of extraordinary. On behalf of the people of the Second Congressional District, I thank Danielle for her commitment to serving both Indiana and the United States.”

Last week, Walorski unveiled her new initiative called ‘Who’s Who in IN-02.’ She announced that each week, she plans to speak on the House floor, highlighting notable Hoosiers, companies, and organizations that are making valuable contributions in the Second Congressional District.

Green, the second honoree for Walorski’s initiative, enlisted in the U.S. Army after graduating from the University of Notre Dame in 1999. While bravely serving her country in Iraq, she lost part of her left arm in a rocket-propelled grenade attack. Green received the Purple Heart for the injuries she suffered in combat. She now works with returning veterans as a readjustment counselor in South Bend.

Watch Walorski’s floor speech here

Next week, Walorski will highlight another weekly recipient of ‘Who’s Who in IN-02.’

Walorski represents the 2nd Congressional District in Indiana, where she serves as a member of the House Veterans’ Affairs Committee, House Armed Services Committee, and House Committee on Agriculture.

Get News & Updates