Walorski Announces 2015 Congressional Art Competition

Monday, March 23, 2015

WASHINGTON, DC – Rep. Jackie Walorski (IN-02) announced that beginning today, her district offices will begin accepting artwork for the 2015 Congressional Art Competition sponsored by the U.S. House of Representatives. The Congressional Art Competition was established in 1982 to give members of Congress the opportunity to recognize artistic talent amongst their constituents. It takes place nationwide and open to all high school students.

Submissions will be judged by a panel of art professionals from the Second Congressional District and votes will be tallied by Facebook “shares” on Walorski’s official Facebook page. A photo of each entry will be posted on the online Facebook album, allowing the opportunity for students and teachers to support their classmates and to view what other students throughout the district have created.

The first place winner will have their artwork displayed in the U.S. Capitol for an entire year as well as receive a pair of round-trip airline tickets to Washington D.C. The judges will also determine second and third place winners and will display their artwork in Walorski’s Mishawaka Office.

WHO: High school students in Indiana’s Second Congressional District

WHAT: 2015 Congressional Art Competition

WHEN: Submissions are to be made from March 23 to April 17, 2015

WHERE: Artwork may be dropped off at either:

Walorski’s Mishawaka Office, 202 Lincolnway East, Suite #101, Mishawaka from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday – Friday

Walorski’s Rochester Office, 709 Main Street (Corner Market Mall), Rochester from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Thursdays or schedule an appointment by calling (574) 780-1330

Once all artwork has been collected, it will be displayed at the South Bend Airport for public viewing beginning Wednesday, April 22. For more information on eligibility, contest rules, and entry forms, visit Walorski’s website or contact Sharon Christophel in the Mishawaka office at (574) 204-2645.

Walorski represents the 2nd Congressional District in Indiana, where she serves as a member of the House Veterans’ Affairs Committee, House Armed Services Committee and House Committee on Agriculture.

Get News & Updates